Short story: “Here is My Thinking on a Situation That Affects Us All”

by look i have opinions

“Here is My Thinking on a Situation That Affects Us All,” by Rahul Kanakia

Appeared in Lightspeed Magazine issue 66, November 2015

2501 words

In his Author Spotlight, Kanakia says: “My writing process is changing continually, and it’s gotten to the point where I no longer have any idea how I do things. Right now, in particular, it’s going through a lot of flux. I used to write without any outline. I’d just have a character, a situation, and a sense of where I wanted things to end up. But I’ve lately come to realize that when I did this, I’d often leave out very critical elements and end up with weak stories that didn’t have strong character arcs. Basically, with each story I’d set off hoping that it would be like ‘Here Is My Thinking …’ (i.e. the kind of story that tells itself), but if it turned out to not be that sort of story, then I’d have zero idea how to turn it into something compelling.” I can sympathize with this. I almost never outline fiction, and like Kanakia, I have a sense that I leave too much up to luck. I can see how this story came together without outlining. The narrator’s story has a natural order to it that doesn’t require scene.

I don’t think the title fits, although I’ll admit it’s a good title. The situation affects humanity and the spaceship in two very different ways. Though I suppose it’s important to join the two together to some extent, given the spaceship’s attempts at compromise.

