Short story: “The Bungalow House”

by look i have opinions

“The Bungalow House,” by Thomas Ligotti

First appeared in issue #5 (The Strange Relationships Issue) of the now defunct magazine The Urbanite, Urban Legends Press, 1995; nominated for a Bram Stoker Award that year; collected in The Nightmare Factory, which was published by Carroll & Graf (now defunct) in 1996 and won the Bram Stoker for Best Fiction Collection (1996) and the British Fantasy Award for Anthology/Collection (1997), and also was nominated for the World Fantasy Award for Best Collection (1997); anthologized in The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror: Volume Seven, edited by Stephen Jones, published by Carroll & Graf in 1996; featured in Pseudopod episode 350, September 6th, 2013

Unknown word count

A real neat thing.

I feel pleased that this story ran in The Urbanite, because back in the nineties or zeroes I got hold of a sample copy that I read closely and obsessed over a bit. If only I’d read issue #5 as well—I’m sure I would have been delighted by this.

