Short story: “How I Mounted Goldie, Saved My Partner Lori, and Sniffed Out The People’s Justice”

by look i have opinions

“How I Mounted Goldie, Saved My Partner Lori, and Sniffed Out The People’s Justice,” by Jonathon Sullivan

Read in episode 169 (August 1st, 2008) of Escape Pod (here)

No idea how many words

What a great voice. I love unusual narrators, especially when they’re completely convincing, as Officer Bull is. The story isn’t bad, but what really makes it work is the character himself. He’s uncomplicated and impossible not to like. The reading on the podcast is terrific too.

The one thing that irritated me was the interviewer’s show of admiration for Bull at the very end. It didn’t seem necessary to the story and I thought it was an attempt to make a statement about how great dogs are, or how great Bull is, or something. Preachy.

