Gravity doesn’t work like an elevator

by look i have opinions

This essay really cleared a few things up for me. I never took physics in school so basic things like gravitational mass being the same as inertial mass, and space-time being curved, strike me as novel. I’m a little embarrassed that I didn’t work out the problems with gravity-as-expansion before I googled it. I mean, I usually google things before trying to figure them out from scratch; that’s how self-education works these days. But there’s an obvious downside to that, less time spent thinking.

To be honest, I don’t understand the writer’s objection to the “many worlds” hypothesis. “Likewise in the case of no-collapse interpretation of quantum mechanics we are asked to believe that somehow our perceptions single out one particular branch of the proliferating universes, so that the world seems to exhibit a unique history.” I mean, I assume our perceptions are the result of our physical brains. I don’t see any reason to discard that assumption at the moment. So to me, asking why we perceive just one unique physical world is a bizarre question. It’s like asking why I don’t know what time it is right now in San Francisco or Beijing. I can only exist in one time zone at a time.

